TOP 7 Monday: Novellas read in 2018

Dear book-lovers,

I’m back with a new TOP 7 list and this one will be featuring my top novellas that I read in 2018. There is no reason to have a long introduction, so let’s get straight to the point and dive into the list.

7. Yumi (Flame in the Mist #1.75) by Renée Ahdieh (3.75 stars) – a very short only 8 pages long YA fantasy novella, however, ‘Flame in the Mist’ fans will enjoy this small snippet in Yumi’s life and even some character development.

yumiWhen Yumi receives word of the battle led against her brother and the Black Clan by Prince Raiden and the Dragon of Kai, and of Ōkami’s sacrifice, she resents the bars of her gilded cage all the more. She’s tired of being a sheltered bird, protected in the Hanami. What Yumi really wants is to strike a blow against all the forces that control her life. The time has come.

 

 

6. The Castle: A Reverse Harem Paranormal Romance (Otherworld Forbidden Retreats Book 2) by Alexa Quinn (3.75 stars) – a very steamy reverse harem NA fantasy erotica with werewolves and forbidden love, however, if you are looking for something with deep meaning and intricate plot then this book isn’t for you, because this is just an entertaining guilty-pleasure read. As this romance story has only 125 pages, then I consider this a novella, and that’s why this book is on list of novellas.

the castleI have a secret I can never tell. I shouldn’t want my dad’s best friends but I do. All four of them, and no one can ever find out.

Sexy alpha Uncle Max, whose heady scent and amber gaze make me quiver.
Passionate Uncle Anthony whose mouth aches to taste me.
Roguish Uncle Jake whose rough hands set my body on fire.
Gentle Uncle Karl whose kisses are my heart’s desire.

My roommate entices me to a forbidden retreat in Otherworld to help me get over it, where I hope to finally lose my virginity. The last thing I expect is to end up in a steamy paradise castle wearing nothing but a skimpy maid’s outfit and serving the four men I’ve dreamt of for years, with nothing but my mask to keep them from knowing who I am. They make it clear they want to strip me, and I am not sure I can resist…

But what happens when we go back home? Is there any place for us in the real world or do I have to pick just one?

This is a hot and steamy reverse harem romance starring four werewolves who are rough, rugged, and ridiculously sexy. This naughty quick read is for a mature audience only. A Happily Ever After is guaranteed. (No crossed swords in this tale.)

This is book 2 in the Otherworld Forbidden Retreats Series. Each book can be read as a standalone.

5. Tarnished Crown (The Royals, #3.5) by Erin Watt (4 stars) – a fun and cute NA contemporary romance. ‘The Royals’ fans will enjoy it. *Note. I would advise to read the first three books in the series before this one, as this is my favourite contemporary book series, and a great guilty-pleasure reads, so this was a re-read for me.

tarnished crown 0Two years ago, one mistake cost Gideon Royal the girl of his dreams. Since then he’s become jaded and stoic, caught in a spiral that has him dealing with blackmail, heartache and loss. When he left for college, he hoped to start over. But fate has other ideas, placing Savannah Montgomery in his path again.

Savannah believes there’s no coming back from Gideon’s betrayal.

He thinks she’s wrong.

Forgiveness. Hope. Redemption. Gideon has vowed to win back the only girl who owns his heart. And when a Royal makes a promise, he’ll go to the ends of the earth to keep it.

4. Bitter Sweet Love (The Dark Elements, #0.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (4 stars) – a sweet paranormal romance novella, which is also a captivating and explanatory beginning to The Dark Elements series and a quick, light read.

bitter sweet loveDez wasn’t just Jasmine’s crush. A gargoyle Warden like Jas, he helped her come to terms with her destiny—fending off demons and maintaining the balance between good and evil. He was her everything…right until the moment he disappeared without a trace. It didn’t help that Jas’s father had just announced that she and Dez would one day be mated. Hard not to take that personally.

And now he’s back, three years older, ten times hotter, ready to pick up exactly where they left off. But Jas isn’t taking that risk again. Dez has seven days to meet all her conditions and earn back her trust. Seven days filled with terrifying danger and sweet temptation. Seven days to win her heart—or shatter it all over again…

3. Next to Never (Fall Away #4.5) by Penelope Douglas (5 stars) – a sexy, fun and cute NA contemporary romance and a wonderful setup for possible future romance and next generations stories in the upcoming spin-off series. *Note. The synopsis doesn’t show it well but this book is also a love story of Quinn’s parents. I would advise to first read all books in this addictive NA romance series. Also this novella can be found in ‘The Next Flame’ book, which include book 4 ‘Aflame’ as well.

next to neverQuinn Caruthers has several problems: her father, Jason, and her three older brothers, Jared, Madoc, and Jaxon. Under the close watch of the men in her family, Quinn has found it nearly impossible to spread her wings-or even date-without them jumping in to hover. And when a family friend-several years older-from her childhood captures her heart, she knows they’re going to be a problem. Lucas Morrow is a man-experienced, sophisticated, and important. And knowing her brothers, he may as well be forbidden. But Lucas left town years ago and shows no signs of returning. Quinn knows she shouldn’t wait for him anymore. But then a package turns up on her doorstep with no return address and its contents reveal family secrets that threaten to turn Quinn’s world upside down. She’s never asked about the tumultuous path of her parents’ romantic history, but she soon learns their happy marriage had a very rocky and passionate start. As she begins to see things around her with new eyes, Quinn will have to make tough choices about whether she’ll keep waiting . . . or finally go after what she really wants. Contains mature themes.

2. Morrighan (The Remnant Chronicles, #0.5) by Marie E. Pearson (5 stars) – a beautiful YA fantasy romance novella. Perfect for fans of The Remnant Chronicles. This novella can be enjoyed before or after reading this amazing, imaginative and captivating series.

morrighanBefore borders were drawn, before treaties were signed, before wars were waged anew, before the great kingdoms of the Remnant were even born and the world of old was only a hazy slate of memory told in story and legend, a girl and her family fought to survive.

And that girl’s name was Morrighan.

In this prequel novella to the Remnant Chronicles, a girl and a boy from enemy camps meet, fall in love–and set history in motion.

1. Shadows (Lux, #0.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (5 stars) – a heartbreaking and beautiful alien and human love story, YA Sci-Fi romance (or it can be considered a paranormal romance as well). It’s almost impossible not to fall in love with Dawson Black and the wonderful world and characters of Lux series. Oh, one more re-read and with an emotional punch, just the FEELS… ‘Shadows’ receive the title of the best novella 2018.

shadowsThe last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane.

Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable.

Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in.

Captivated. Lured. Loved.

Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence…and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.

So here you go, my list with the best novellas that I read in 2018. Please share in comments some of your top novellas read in 2018! Have you read any of the books on this list? If yes, what were your thoughts? If no, are you considering to add any of them on your TBR?

Happy reading,
Lady of Bookland

000 lady of bookland

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “TOP 7 Monday: Novellas read in 2018

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s