ARC REVIEW: For Emery by J. Nathan

Dear book-lovers,

First, I have to mention that For Emery (For You #4) by J. Nathan was kindly provided by author via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. So I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

for emeryTitle: For Emery
Author: J. Nathan
Series: For You #4
Publication Year: 2019
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Source: eARC from author via NetGalley
Rating: 4 Stars
Recommendation: Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys reading contemporary romance books


Synopsis

A STANDALONE New Adult Sports Romance in the For You series. Each book follows a new couple.

Emery
I’ve loved Jordan Grady since I was eight.
Since he became my protector.
Since he became my safe haven each night.
But I was younger.
Off limits…
Until high school when he finally kissed me.
And for a few fleeting moments, everything was right in the world.
Then I was forced to do the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do…
Disappear from his life without a trace.

Grady
I’m Alabama’s star right tackle—and a real prick.
I live my life by a few solid truths.
Life isn’t fair.
Don’t let anyone get too close.
And those who claim to care about you can up and leave.
But you know what they say about things that disappear…
But Emery Pruitt had never been mine.
Even if she had returned after four years.
Older.
Confident.
And more beautiful than the night she vanished.
But it didn’t erase the fact that she’d left me.
So, why find me now?


4stars

Review

Even though For Emery by J. Nathan is a fourth book in a series, it can be read as a standalone because each of the books feature a different couple. So this was actually the first book that I read in this series, and also, from this author, however, I must say that this won’t be the last book for me. I would love to read more of J. Nathan’s books.

“You’re a dream come true,” he said, before reaching behind his neck and pulling his shirt over his head.

For Emery was a sweet and wonderful new adult second chance friends-to-lovers sports romance. What else can I say? I loved it. I enjoyed it. And I felt it all. This story did look at some important themes, like domestic abuse, which made it deeper and more relevant. At times the story was a bit dark and sad, but other time it was light and fun.

Some of the girls lining the hallway took me in. I wasn’t used to the attention. Rewind. I always received attention, but it was normally because of my big mouth. This time girls were checking out my bare chest and the six-pack abs I now sported. “Yes, ladies. They are real. And I’m definitely not opposed to you touching them.”

I liked Emery (our female MC), because she was such a strong and will-full character, because she never gave up, because she knew what she wanted and she went for it.  Still there were a couple of times when I wanted to shake some sense into her, and also, do the same with Jordan (the male MC).

I stared back at him. Didn’t he get that he was my dream. Always had been. Always would be. Gahhhh. I was so far gone it would be impossible to return. Of that I was sure of.

But I loved Jordan, he really grew on me. I felt his pain and it was so heart-breaking to watch him spiralling out of control because of this pain, untill Emery came back into his life. He was actually sweet, caring and a nice guy that I could over look all of his flaws, however, his bad boy demeanor did lure me in as well 😉

I’d been the nice guy, and I’d been taken advantage of and screwed over, I’d never make that mistake again. I did what I wanted now. To hell with the consequences. To hell with my reputation. To hell with everyone.

I liked Emery and Jordan together because they were such a cute couple. Also I liked how their relationship developed from friendship, which was showed in the flashbacks, which was done in a good way that didn’t disrupt the present story. This was an emotional story that made me cry and smile, because I cared for these characters and was rooting for their HEA. This was a beautiful slow-burn romance story without too much OW and OM drama, which is something that I always appreciate.

I was damned if I kissed my best friend, and I was damned if I rejected her.

Overall, For Emery was a cute and utterly emotional story in heart-breaking and heart-warming way. I can say that this was a solid 4 star read, and I’ll be checking out J. Nathan other books.

I tough she would always be around…until she disappeared without a trace.

I recommend this book to everyone who is looking for a sweet friends-to-lovers romance, or an emotional second chance romance, or a cute sports romance or just a well done new adult contemporary romance. I would say that this is a must read for romance fans.

For Emery by J. Nathan

Feel free to share your thoughts about For Emery by J. Nathan in comments 😉

Happy reading,
Lady of Bookland

000 lady of bookland

2 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: For Emery by J. Nathan

Leave a comment